Tofu Spinach Mushroom & Sausage Frittata

When I made this Frittata I really had a craving for mini quiche, the kind my parents used to bake and put on a plate in the centre of the island where we would pass around a bottle of Frank’s Red Hot and eat them with our fingers. But being on a budget, I thought frittata would be a good option (no need for crust ingredients).

I searched the internet and couldn’t find a recipe that I loved, so I used the base of this Zucchini Frittata recipe from blog.fatfreevegan.com and changed the zucchini out for spinach, mushrooms, and vegan breakfast sausage.

They turned out yummy but there are a few small changes I would make next time; the original recipe directions suggest baking the mixture in a pie pan lined with parchment paper – I am out of parchment paper and I decided to see if my greased non-stick muffin tin would do the trick. It worked out ok but they were tough to get out without mangling them up a little and the sides were a little browner and flakier than I wanted, due to greasing the tin I suppose. So I will use a glass dish with parchment paper next time and avoid the flaky sides. I will also either cut down or cut out the nutritional yeast and supplement/replace it with shredded mozzarella Daiya and I think some sundried tomatoes would add a yummy touch.

So without further ado, here is the recipe! Obviously, I recommend playing with it a little to make it suit your taste. Just be careful with adding any veggies that hold too much water because it will throw off the balance and stop it from setting up and staying together.

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 5 oz mushrooms, finely shopped
  • 12 oz baby spinach, chopped
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 5 vegan breakfast links, sliced small (I used Yves)
  • 12 oz silken tofu (light firm or extra firm – I find silken to be fairly interchangeable without much trouble)
  • 1/4 cp non-dairy milk of your choice (I used unsweetened Almond)
  • 3 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 heaping Tbsp cornstarch (or 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp)
  • 1 tsp tahini
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • generous grating fresh black pepper

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees and lightly oil a muffin tin, set aside
  • Sauté breakfast sausage on medium heat in 1 Tbsp olive oil until it starts to brown and crisp up a little. Add onions and cook until they begin to soften, about 3-4 minutes. Next add chopped mushrooms until they soften. Then add spinach and cook until nicely wilted.IMG_8726IMG_8728IMG_8729IMG_8731
  • In the meantime, add all other ingredients to a blender and mix.
  • When the veggies and sausage are cooked, remove from heat and combine with tofu blender mixture in a mixing bowl. IMG_8732
  • Ladle the mixture into muffin tin evenly. Alternatively, fill muffin tin cups to the top until the mixture is all used and put a bit of water into the empty cups (to avoid cooking dry muffin tin cups). IMG_8734
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the centre is set and the top is not quite browning yet.IMG_8736
  • Remove from over and loosen edges with a butter knife, then use a spoon to remove them from the tin and place on a plate to cool.
  • Serve hot, room temperature, or cold with some hot sauce and your favourite breakfast side. IMG_8737

https://instagram.com/p/4egewQDp05/?taken-by=hereisthirty


Leave a comment